The boring little things I don’t understand

There are things I don’t understand. I don’t mean deep questions or dark, sinister forces. I mean things that I don’t understand because when they swim into my consciousness, my brain shies away like a horse at an oddly-shaped jump. First you’re put off because they seem boring and unimportant; then time adds a layer of embarrassment about not already understanding this thing, because don’t all competent adults understand it? That thin coat of slightly-unpleasant feelings (boredom, embarrassment) is almost as effective as the Somebody Else’s Problem forcefield described by Douglas Adams.

But sometimes there comes a point when still not understanding is more boring than the thing itself could possibly be. So in 2015 I’m going to try something: pick a boring thing for each month and finally find out about it. This will probably not involve anything more strenuous than a bit of light googling. I’ll tell you what I learnt about and you can either a) feel superior because you’ve been an expert in this subject since the cradle; or b) quietly take the opportunity to learn about it yourself.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “The boring little things I don’t understand”

  1. Julieanne Says:

    Here’s a boring thing that it seems everyone knew except me. You know the rhyme ‘good night, sleep tight, don’t let the bed bugs bite’? I assumed it was just a silly rhyme, and I was in my 40’s when I found out bed bugs were a real thing. doh.


  2. […] you remember when, back in January, I started an occasional series of posts about things that are too boring to understand? I got as far as plates and no further. I was going to do lightbulbs but then realised it’s a way […]


  3. […] This is a post in the not-very-regular series about boring things. […]


Leave a Reply

